Cambridge exams

Cambridge University has a range of English language tests at different levels and for different purposes. Unlike IELTS, Cambridge exams have unlimited validity.

In 2015, Cambridge will be introducing a new scale of scores:
Scores between 120 and 139 = CEFR A2
Scores between 140 and 159 = CEFR B1
Scores between 160 and 179 = CEFR B2
Scores between 180 and 199 = CEFR C1
Scores between 200 and 230 = CEFR C2

The following Cambridge exams test all four skills (speaking, reading, writing and listening). Click on the links below to go to the Cambridge ESOL website.

Key (KET) – pass level A2
Preliminary (PET) – pass level B1
First (FCE) – pass level B2 (New exam in 2015: More info here)
Advanced (CAE) – pass level C1
Proficiency( CPE) – pass level C2

Each has 3 pass grades: A, B and C. The most popular tests with my students are Cambridge First and Advanced.

My First (FCE) interview tips

Business English certificates

Business Preliminary – level B1
Business Vantage – level B2
Business Higher – level C1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>